Whittier Public Library
  
Search the Catalog:
Power Search | View Account | Renew Items | Change PIN
Databases
Magazine and Newspaper Articles
General Reference Center Gold
General Reference Center Gold
Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
Los Angeles Times via ProQuest
Los Angeles Times via ProQuest
Provides full text articles from the Los Angeles Times newspaper.
NewsBank

NewsBank (Newspapers)
Provides full text articles from the Whittier Daily News, The Orange County Register, and other local newspapers.

Library Catalog

Library Catalog
Search indices of Whittier Daily News and Los Angeles Times microfilm collections. Must visit the library to view full text.

Job Search
Mango Languages

Career Transitions
Use this database to explore new career possibilities, identify ways to improve job prospects, prepare resumés and more.
(This project  is supported in whole by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act, administered in California by the State Librarian.) 

Learn a New Language
Mango Languages
Mango Languages
Mango is an online language-learning system that teaches actual conversation skills for 12 different languages. Try it today!
General Research
Books and Authors
Books and Authors
Find your next book with new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics.
Reference USA
Reference USA (White Pages and Business Directory)
Comprehensive directory of over 14 million business and 100 million residential telephone numbers, addresses and other information.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, numerous reference volumes, over 700 health videos from partner Healthology, Inc., hundreds of pamphlets and health-related articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles.
World Book Advanced
World Book Reference Center
Find photos, search the encyclopedia, look up words in the dictionary, and search magazines articles.
World Book Discover
For older students still developing their reading skills. Includes a Life Skills Tool Kit to help with money, health and housing issues students and their families may encounter. Includes voice and video presentations.
For Students
Biography Resource Center
Gale Biography Resource Center
Provides biographical research information on notable people from all countries and time periods.
Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center
Full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Literature Criticism Online
Literature Criticism Online
Gale's literary criticism is now available online. For volumes published prior to 2008, check the library's print holdings.

Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints
Provides articles reflecting both sides of current issues.
Spanish Language Encylopedia

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
Find photos, search the encyclopedia, look up words in the dictionary, and search magazines articles.

Student Resource Center
Student Resource Center: Gold
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
World Book Discover
World Book Info Finder
A database for elementary and middle school coming to the library for help with their homework and research projects.It includes all the articles from the print versions of the World Book Encyclopedia, plus thousands of additional articles, learning resources, and research tools.
Just for Kids!
Junior Reference Collection Junior Reference Collection
An online collection of encyclopedia and text book articles specifically for middle school students.
Student Resource Center Junior Student Resource Center Junior
Middle school students can find periodical, journal and magazine articles at their level.
World Book Kids
World Book Kids
Find photos, search the encyclopedia, look up words in the dictionary, and search magazines articles.

This page was last updated on July 27th, 2010