Databases

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Academic Search Premier

Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Archives of Sexuality and Gender

LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 covers topics including LGBTQ activism and the HIV/AIDS crisis. It provides researchers with the documents necessary to delve deep into the Gay Rights Movement with resources that may otherwise go undiscovered. Repositories for this collection include: Lesbian Herstory Educational Foundation; Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives; Women's Energy Bank; GLBT Historical Society; National Library of Medicine; among other archives.

AutoMate

Powered by the automotive experts at MOTOR, AutoMate provides the most accurate, authoritative and up-to-date service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls.

Biography Reference Center

Provides biographical research information on notable people from all countries and time periods.

Careers Internet Database

USER NAME: 131w 
PASSWORD: future

Responding to the critical need for direction in obtaining successful and satisfying employment in today's complex job market, Institute For Career Research regularly issues new comprehensive reports of promising career fields for the 21st Century based on the most up-to-date information from our nationwide research network

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.

Driving-Tests.org

Free California Driver Permit practice tests for both automobiles and motorcycles, along with the Driver Handbook for each.

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgo

Encuentre fotos, busque en la enciclopedia, mire palabras en el diccionario, y investigue artículos en revistas.

Explora

Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.

Explora-Primary

Students in grades K-5 can find periodical, journal and magazine articles at their level.

Explora-Secondary

Students in grades 6-12 can search magazines, newspapers, biographies, country reports, film & video by topic heading, make use of an online dictionary and encyclopedia, explore the top searches of the day, and even limit their search according to appropriate lexile reading levels.

History Reference Center

Contains historical documents, biographies of historical figures, photos, maps, historical videos and more.

Hobbies & Crafts

This database offers detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Full text is provided from leading hobby and craft magazines, including Bead & Button, Birder's World, Creative Knitting, FineScale Modeler, Quilter's World, and many more.

Legal Information Reference Center

Contains hundreds of full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. The full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.

Literary Reference Center

Full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

Literature Criticism Online

Gale's literary criticism is now available online.

Los Angeles Times

Provides full text articles from the Los Angeles Times newspaper.

Mango Languages

Mango is an online language-learning system that teaches actual conversation skills for over 60 different languages. Try it today!

Morningstar

Investment resource specialized in fund investing. Offers news, commentary, fund information, tutorial, tools and forums.

NewsBank (Newspapers)

Provides full text articles from the Whittier Daily News, The Orange County Register, and other local newspapers.

NoveList Plus

Find your next book with new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics.

Points of View

Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides the basis from which students can realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

Read the Book

Students can search by school to find their Accelerated Reader or Reading Counts lists and then check the library's catalog for availability.

Reference USA

ReferenceUSA is an online database of 40 million+ US Businesses, 270 million+ US Residents, New Businesses, New Movers and much more. ReferenceUSA is an excellent resource for finding sales opportunities, developing business strategies, conducting research, finding friends and family, and looking for job opportunities. Library patrons can download records in increments of 250 from inside the library or remotely. Online training opportunities can be found at resource.referenceusa.com/learning-center.

Referencia Latina

Ofrece contenido desde una variedad de fuentes incluyendo entradas de enciclopedias, imágenes, reportes de salud, un diccionario de Español – Ingles, libros de referencia y revistas de interés general cubriendo un extenso serie de sujetos.

Salem History

Online access to Survey of American Industry and Careers; Decades (The Fifties in America, The Sixties in America, and The Seventies in America); Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society; Great Events from History: Middle Ages.

Salem Literature

Access to Magill's Literary Annual which are evaluations of serious literature published each year.

tumblebooks

For children grades K-6, offering animated talking picture books, chapter books, videos, non-fiction titles, playlists, books in languages other than English such as French and Spanish, graphic novels and math stories, that can be read from your personal computer.

World Book Advanced

Advanced, is a powerful multimedia reference tool, perfect for high-school students, that integrates reference articles, eBooks, and primary source databases in a single search. It also includes access to up-to-the-minute news publications from all over the world.

World Book Discover

For older students still developing their reading skills. Includes a Life Skills Tool Kit to help with money, health and housing issues students and their families may encounter. Includes voice and video presentations.

World Book Kids

Find photos, search the encyclopedia, look up words in the dictionary, and search magazines articles.

World Book Student

World Book Student is aimed toward an audience of upper-elementary through middle school students. ... Simple language, basic facts, and appropriate photographs and images make World Book Student a fine source to introduce students to the organization, presentation, and usefulness of an online encyclopedia."

World Book Timelines

Offers hundreds of pre-generated timelines across eight broad topics, which cover various time periods in history or span the life of historical public figures,
it also allows users to create their own timeline from scratch, adding events, descriptions, and media.

World Book's Early World of Learning

Emergent learners will engage in an interactive and playful environment that encourages reading comprehension and mastery of phonetic skills. Early World of Learning is full of stories, videos, songs, and games to provide a firm foundation for 21st-century learning and digital citizenship.